The spring semester 2021 will take place online until further notice. Exceptions: Courses that can only be carried out with on-site presence. Please note the information provided by the lecturers.

701-0352-00L  Analysis and Assessment of Environmental Sustainability

SemesterSpring Semester 2016
LecturersC. E. Pohl, R. Frischknecht, H. R. Heinimann, A. Hilbeck
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman


AbstractThe lecture introduces to methods and approaches that have been developed to systematically measure, assess and minimize environmental impacts of new substances, technologies, products, services, construction projects etc. Three of this methods will be dealt with in detail: Environmental Risk Assessment (EnRA), Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) and Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA).
ObjectiveStudents have an overview of the current methods of analysis and assessment of environmental impacts. Students know the problems that each method is designed to address. Students have detailed knowledge of the methods of Environmental Risk Assessment, Life Cycle Assessment, and Environmental Impact Assessment. They are able to adopt the three methods to case studies.
ContentDuring the last decades various methods and approaches have been developed to systematically measure, assess and minimize environmental impacts of new substances, technologies, products, services, construction projects etc.. Such methods are e.g. Environmental Risk Assessment (EnRA), Substance Flow Analysis (SFA), Life Cycle Assessment (LCA), Integrated Assessment (IA), Technology Assessment (TA), Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) or Environmental Audits. The lecture gives an introduction to these methods and shows examples of their practical use.
The lectures consists of 4 parts
(a) Overview of methods,
(b) Environmental Risk Assessment (EnRA),
(c) Life Cycle Assessment (LCA),
(d) Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA)
Exercises form an integral part of the lecture
Lecture notesyes
Literaturesee Skript

Das Frühjahrssemester 2021 findet sicher bis Ostern online statt. Ausnahmen: Veranstaltungen, die nur mit Präsenz vor Ort durchführbar sind. Bitte beachten Sie die Informationen der Dozierenden.

701-0352-00L  Analyse und Beurteilung der Umweltverträglichkeit

SemesterFrühjahrssemester 2016
DozierendeC. E. Pohl, R. Frischknecht, H. R. Heinimann, A. Hilbeck
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch


KurzbeschreibungDie Vorlesung gibt eine Einführung in Verfahren und Methoden, mit welchen sich Umweltauswirkungen neuer Stoffe, Technologien, Produkte, Dienstleistungen, Bauprojekten etc. systematisch erfassen, beurteilen und minimieren lassen. Drei dieser Methoden werden vertieft behandelt: Das Environmental Risk Assessment (EnRA), die Ökobilanzierung (LCA) und die Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung (UVP).
LernzielDie Studierenden haben einen Überblick über die Funktionsweise der gängigen Umweltanalyse und -beurteilungsmethoden. Sie wissen, welche Methode für welche Problemstellungen geeignet ist. Die Studierenden haben zudem detaillierte Kenntnisse der Methoden des Environmental Risk Assessment, der Ökobilanzierung und der Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung. Sie können die drei Methoden auf Fallbeispiele anwenden.
InhaltIn den letzten Jahrzehnten wurde eine Vielzahl von Verfahren und Methoden entwickelt, mit welchen sich die Umweltauswirkungen neuer Substanzen, Technologien, Produkten, Dienstleistungen, Bauprojekten etc. systematisch erfassen, beurteilen und minimieren lassen. Beispiele solcher Methoden sind Environmental Risk Assessment (EnRA), Stoffflussanalyse (SFA), Life Cycle Assessment (LCA), Integrated Assessment (IA), Technology Assessment (TA), Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung (UVP) oder Umweltmanagementsysteme (UMS). Die Vorlesung gibt eine Einführung in diese Methoden und zeigt an Beispielen ihre praktische Bedeutung auf.
Die Vorlesung besteht aus 4 Teilen:
(a) Überblick über Analyse und Beurteilungsmethoden
(b) Vertiefungsblock Environmental Risk Assessment (EnRA),
(c) Vertiefungsblock Ökobilanzierung (LCA)
(d) Vertiefungsblock Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung (UVP)
Übungen sind in der Vorlesungszeit integriert.
Skriptja
Literatursiehe Skript