Autumn Semester 2020 takes place in a mixed form of online and classroom teaching.
Please read the published information on the individual courses carefully.

701-0106-00L  Mathematics V: Applied Deepening of Mathematics I - III

SemesterSpring Semester 2016
LecturersM. A. Sprenger, A. Cannas da Silva
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionEnglish


AbstractSelected mathematical topics are presented for later use in more specialised lectures. Part of the topics were already discussed in the lectures Mathematics I-III. Here, they should be shortly recapitulated and most importantly applied to practical problems. If necessary, new mathematical concepts and methods will be introduced in order to solve challenging and inspiring problems from practice.
ObjectiveThe aim of this lecture is to prepare the students for the more specialised lectures. They should become more familiar with the mathematical background, the mathematical concepts und most of all with their application and interpretation.
ContentPractical examples from the following areas will be discussed: ordinary differential equations; eigenvalue problems from linear algebra; systems of linear and nonlinear differential equations; partial differential equations (diffusion, transport, waves).

Das Herbstsemester 2020 findet in einer gemischten Form aus Online- und Präsenzunterricht statt.
Bitte lesen Sie die publizierten Informationen zu den einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen genau.

701-0106-00L  Mathematics V: Applied Deepening of Mathematics I - III

SemesterFrühjahrssemester 2016
DozierendeM. A. Sprenger, A. Cannas da Silva
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheEnglisch


KurzbeschreibungAusgewählte mathematische Themen und Konzepte, die allenfalls schon in den Vorlesungen Mathematik I-III eingeführt worden sind, werden im Sinne einer Vorbereitung auf spätere Spezialvorlesungen anhand von Beispielen aus der Praxis verknüpft, illustriert, vertraut gemacht und vor allem angewandt. Es wird bei Gelegenheit auch neuer Stoff behandelt.
LernzielDas Ziel besteht darin, auf spätere Spezialvorlesungen vorzubereiten. Die Studierenden sollen vertrauter gemacht werden mit dem schon behandelten mathematischen Stoff, den mathematischen Konzepten und vor allem mit deren Anwendungs- und Interpretationsmöglichkeiten.
InhaltEs werden Beispiele aus der Praxis zu folgenden Themen behandelt: Gewöhnliche Differentialgleichungen; Eigenwertproblem der linearen Algebra; Lineare und nichtlineare Differentialgleichungssysteme; Partielle Differentialgleichungen (Diffusionsgleichung, Transportgleichung, Wellengleichung)